The Universe

January 26, 2010

This past weekend I created the Universe.

Okay, I apologize for the bad pun, but I really did.  The tamper that you see above is the very first Universe, now the third “sub-brand” of Ming-Kahuna along with Moxie and Kazetamp.  This tamper has been a long time in coming since my first external pick tamper, the Tribune, created in late 1998 or early 1999. Many design elements and advances in working with materials like aluminum all converged this past weekend and I was finally able to bring the Universe about.  For months I have had a somewhat vague idea of the design of the tamper, one that has resisted my many attempts to sketch what I was seeing in my mind’s eye.  Often when I don’t know how I’m going to do a tamper in terms of production I can’t see it clearly in my mind in terms of shape.  I get bits and pieces, but never the whole.  Then, when I know how the tamper will be made, the image becomes rock solid firm.  As it turned out, there was no need to sketch this one.  This past Sunday morning I went down to my shop  and like Nike I “just did it”.

 With the first Universe finished all of the many variations that will spring forth are already spinning in my head.  The sky is the limit.  Stay tuned for more of where Ming-Kahuna was destined to go.

 You can read more about the Universe here: http://www.ming-kahuna.com/moreinfo.cfm?Product_ID=1310 and see more here: http://www.ming-kahuna.com/moreinfo.cfm?Product_ID=1328

Leave a Reply

